Profile Image

Tim

City:
Bussum
Kids Information:
# 2 Feike (5years)     Taeke (3years)    
Preferred Language
English
Dietary Preference
Nothing, loving all the food
Religion:
none
Languages:
English
Family Religion:
No Religious Requirements
Driving Licence Requirements:
No Driving Licence Required
Pets:
No Pets
Start Date 03/2023
Duration 12 Months
We'd like to host our guest, so - next to being able to learn from other cultures - our boys can spend two days at home (safe and familiar environment) and three at the day care (which is at 400 meters walking distance) while Fiona and I have a bit more flexibility and can combine concluding certain work tasks whether at our home offices or at work in Amsterdam. We will be at home during (parts of) one or both days. It would be a great bonus, if our boys can learn English or another language. If our guest can cook for the boys, that would also be great.

Tell au pairs about your children, your job, values, hobbies and fun things that make you a nice family!

We are Tim, Fiona, Feike (3) and Taeke (2). Fiona and Tim work in Amsterdam and also work form home. Feike and Taeke go to day care three days a day and are a home two days a week. We have a nice cleaning lady that cleans the house for us once a week. The family likes to create a fun and safe environment for all its members and guests. Although we meet plenty dogs ("woofies" as the boys say) and cats in our neighborhood, we don't have any pets ourselves (maybe some day, when the boys are big enough). Feike likes to watch movies on ambulances, fire trucks and excavators on his I-pad (but is on an I-pad "budget"), Taeke like reading and testing the quality and firmness of books. The family also like to have joint moments in front of the fireplace when cold and at our terrace if warm, with drinks with "bitterballen", a famous Dutch treat which almost all non-Dutchies totally appreciate. We'll learn you how to eat it safely and properly! When the boys are in bed, Tim and Fiona like to watch Netflix or meet friends, in or outside the house. Or sleep themselves ;).


What are you looking for and expecting from an au pair? What will you expect from the au pair?

General expected characteristics of our guest would be: - cheerful, energetic, active, enthusiastic, tidy, non-smoker (or not in the house) - fond of toddlers (they are 2 and 3) - ready, willing and able to help educate the boys (read books, do puzzles, etc) - able to think and act responsibly, independently - speaks and writes English (or Dutch) well - experienced in taking care of children (toddlers would be a bonus) - in her twenties or very responsible and has all above characteristics We were thinking our guest could: - take our boys to the park next door or on bicycle rides with the "bakfiets" - take our boys to playgrounds, pet farms, etc - play in our garden with the boys - when raining, play games or read books with the boys - during the day, help the boys put away the boys' toys when need be, fold their clothes, have breakfast and/or lunch and/or cook and have dinner with the boys, take the boys to and out of bed for their after-lunch nap, do the dishes with the dish washer and clean up what's been used - watch the boys during one or two evenings a week - take the boys out of bed and play in the playroom one morning in the weekend, if possible (TBD) - small housekeeping responsibilities (folding clothes, keep own room/floor clean)


What fun things can the au pair do around town, and what can your family offer to the au pairs during the au pair experience?

In our house, our guest would basically have her own floor (with free Netflix and wi-fi) and bathroom. If our guest wants to visit Amsterdam, we can offer a lift to Amsterdam or to the train station (which is 5 mins away from the house). In our town, we live very close to pretty much everything (shops, lunch/coffee rooms, gyms, library). At less than 2 miles away there are nature parks, the "hei", etc., where cyclists, joggers and people who walk their dogs go. Our guest can use one of our bikes or the "bakfiets". We can help our guest learn Dutch, if desired. We definitely will introduce our guest to some Dutch "cuisine" (don't worry, mainly great snacks ). Our boys are very entertaining, cute kids who will certainly make our guest feel welcome. Fiona and Tim can show our guest what parts of the Netherlands or Amsterdam are worth visiting and help get there.




Profile Files


Journey Files