Profile Image

Conny

City:
Amsterdam
Kids Information:
# 3 Pauline (7years)     Theresa (5years)     Luisa (3years)    
Preferred Language
English, German, Dutch
Dietary Preference
Vegetarian
Religion:
none
Languages:
English, German, Dutch
Family Religion:
No Religious Requirements
Driving Licence Requirements:
Driving Licence Required
Pets:
No Pets
Start Date 02/2023
Duration 12 Months
While all of our girls are in school / crèche during the day, we will need help for pick up and taking them to their activities throughout the week.

Tell au pairs about your children, your job, values, hobbies and fun things that make you a nice family!

We are a family of five - Stefan and Conny with our 3 daughters Pauline, Theresa and Luisa. We speak German at home but the girls also speak Dutch (mothertongue level) and English (good understanding / speaking). Pauline and Theresa go to a Dutch school (until 3pm, Wed until 12). Once they are done they have a number of activities (music, choir, hockey, swimming). Luisa goes to daycare (at the moment 4 days a week) and once a week to a music class. When they don‘t have activities they enjoy playing at home amongst the three of them or with their friends who are visiting or they go to visit friends. Stefan works in finance and he started working at home most days over the past months. Once a week he goes to the office (in Amsterdam) and normally he is also traveling overnight once per week. Given his busy work schedule Conny has been staying at home doing voluntary work and managing the household and girls the last years but is currently looking for a job. Beyond the activities that the girls have and our social involvement (seeing / hosting friends and family) we enjoy being active. On weekends we try to do activities and sports outdoors - sometimes with the whole family and also we parents on our own. It is very important for us to spend time outside and make sure that the kids and we are active by going biking, swimming, walking etc. or trying to make use of the cultural activities Amsterdam has to offer. Also, we also treasure moments together and make sure that we have meals together where we can to share our thoughts and everything that happened throughout the day. Further with family not too far away we also frequently use school vacation to head to Germany or travel elsewhere.


What are you looking for and expecting from an au pair? What will you expect from the au pair?

Given our schedule the Au pair whom we can welcome in our family shall be prepared to be living with an active family. Given our living circumstances it will be possible to enjoy privacy from the busy family life when not working. The girls are mostly taken by cargo bike through Amsterdam which would be one of the responsibilities of anyone supporting us. Once Conny will be working again we need someone who will be available to pick up the two big girls from school, take them to activities and pick up Luisa. It is therefore essential to feel safe driving a cargo bike through the city. Most days we will try to prepare dinner so an Au pair will mostly only be asked to warm up food and do few cooking activities. Also, as we have a cleaning lady we only ask for smaller support in the household (washing presorted laundry and putting it up to dry, cleaning up the table/kitchen after meals, dishwasher). As we do like the girls to clean up their bed rooms after playing / put school bags etc at certain places in the house we do expect an Au pair to support us / the girls with that task. As the girls don’t have homework there will be no need to support them with such tasks.


What fun things can the au pair do around town, and what can your family offer to the au pairs during the au pair experience?

From March onwards (which is when we expect to move to a new house) the Au pair staying with us would have her own spacious room with her own bathroom. The room is on a separate floor where the entrance of the house along with the office / guest room is. That situation guarantees a lot of privacy. Also, we live very central (yet quiet) in Amsterdam and everything in the city is by bike within reach of 20 min. Also, tram, bus, metro and train station are very close. The location is also ideal for outdoor sports such as running, cycling or even SUP.




Profile Files


Journey Files